FOOTBALL: Mustangs Get 6 Spots On UCBAC First Team

The Upper Chesapeake Bay Athletic Conference all-conference teams were announced recently, and Bel Air area teams had good representation.

The Upper Chesapeake Bay Athletic Conference released all-conference teams, and C. Milton Wright High School made a strong showing.

This year was a breakout season for the Mustangs, who have struggled on the football field for about a decade.

Osiah Walker (wide receiver) and Tyler Hall (tight end) were named first-team on the offensive side. On the defensive side, Bruce West (defensive line), Craig Moretz (linebacker), Caleb Moretz (linebacker) and Tyler Dameron (defensive back) earned first-team spots.

Check out the .pdf attached to this post for a full breakdown of first-team, second-team and honorable mentions from teams throughout Harford County.

Editor's note: The above document supplied by the Upper Chesapeake Bay Athletic Conference incorrectly spells the name of a Fallston player. The correct spelling is Erik Dettloff.

Sean Welsh November 30, 2012 at 03:13 AM
That's correct, Amy—the All-Harford and All-Metro teams printed by the newspapers are chosen by the staff of those newspapers. The All-UCBAC teams—like the one included with this article—are selected by the coaches. I just wanted to clarify to some readers who were curious about the process that went into picking these teams. Patch does not select an all-county team. We opt to publish, when provided, the all-conference teams chosen by the coaches who see all of the players in action.
Duck Farmer November 30, 2012 at 05:20 PM
Why does the staff of a newspaper select an "All-Harford" or "All-Metro" team? Shouldn't it be called an "All-Aegis" team then? Seems more appropriate? Wow... I had no idea...
Sean Welsh November 30, 2012 at 08:12 PM
I would normally refrain from commenting on another publication, but I spent two high school sports seasons at The Aegis, and I spent two baseball seasons coaching in Harford County, where I interacted with reporters. The newspaper uses input from coaches to help select the team.
Jen December 01, 2012 at 12:45 PM
Well the input this year for All Aegis I mean All County was clearly chosen by the CMW & Patterson Mill H20 coaches. 7 of the girls chosen all play H20. The 3 sophomores two of which ARE the CMW coaches daughters all play club for her also. I think it would be only fair to let all the county coaches have input. I know you want to see YOUR kid in the paper but so give everyone an opportunity.
Collin December 06, 2012 at 11:04 PM
Jen, have you ever seen them play field hockey? Because if you have then you would know why they were chosen. Those girls are amazing players and give it their all every day at practice and every game. As a field hockey manager I went to all the games and saw a majority of the county girls play. Without a doubt there are some amazing players out there and yes maybe some of them are good enough to make All County, but there are so many of them out there. Sydney, Sabrina and Linnea are outstanding players and without a doubt deserve to be on that list. Don't be surprised when one day you see one or more of them playing for the USA National team, they are that good. And once again, those 7 girls from H2O.... did you ever think maybe that the program trains them to be that kind of player? Every single one of those girls that made that list deserve it.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »